Skip to main content
Main content

Proteas pick uncapped spinners

England has crumbled to 101 all out to lose the fourth and final cricket Test in South Africa.
Proteas pick uncapped spinners
Photo Source: AP

More Cricket News

South Africa will bring uncapped spin bowlers Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj to Australia for next month's three-Test cricket campaign.

Proteas' selectors have overlooked off-spinner Dane Piedt for the pair of newcomers for the series that begins in Perth on November 3.

Shamsi, a left-arm chinaman bowler, took career-best figures of 3-36 against Australia in Sunday's fourth one-day international in Port Elizabeth.

Maharaj, 26, is a left-arm finger spinner who is yet to play for South Africa in any format but has 275 first class wickets from 76 matches at 26.55.

South Africa selection convener Linda Zondi said both players had been picked with Australian conditions in mind.

"Shamsi has made huge progress over the course of the last year in the longer format," Zondi said.

"He took 41 wickets at an average of less than 20 in seven matches in last season's (domestic) Sunfoil Series and he certainly offers something different as an attacking spinner.

"Maharaj is also right on top of his game. He took 13 wickets in the Sunfoil Series match at the weekend and also made a run-a-ball 72.

"We feel that spinners who turn the ball away from the right-hander are going to be particularly useful under Australian conditions and against the Test batsmen we are likely to face."

Batsman Rilee Rossouw is the other uncapped player named in the squad after his impressive displays in the ODI series against Australia.

Morne Morkel has been named but the tall fast bowler will need to prove his fitness in a domestic match this week after missing the recent Test series against New Zealand due to injury.

Faf du Plessis will captain the team in the absence of AB de Villiers, who underwent surgery on his elbow last week.

South Africa: Faf du Plessis (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Stephen Cook, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Dane Vilas.

AAP©2016 AAP