Skip to main content
Main content

Payne nominated for 'The Don' Award

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has hailed the first female jockey to ride the Melbourne Cup winner.
Melbourne Cup-winning jockey Michelle Payne is among seven individuals and one team nominated for the The Don Award
Photo Source: AAP

More Horse Racing News

Melbourne Cup-winning jockey Michelle Payne is in esteemed company as one of eight nominations for the 2016 'The Don' Award.

Named in honour of the late Sir Donald Bradman, Sport Australia Hall of Fame's annual 'The Don' Award recognises the athlete or team who, through their performance and example over the past year, has most inspired the nation.

Payne became the first female jockey to win the Melbourne Cup when she steered Prince Of Penzance to a famous victory at Flemington last November.

Payne is nominated alongside Dylan Alcott, Kim Brennan, Kyle Chalmers, Curtis McGrath, Anna Meares, the Australian Olympic women's Rugby Sevens team, and Johnathan Thurston.

AAP©2016 AAP