Skip to main content
Main content

Mitchell wins Hawks best and fairest

Hawthorn want protection for Sam Mitchell, claiming the midfielder was unfairly bashed by Geelong.
Mitchell wins Hawks best and fairest
Photo Source: AAP

More AFL News

Hawthorn veteran Sam Mitchell was on Saturday named as the AFL club's best and fairest player for 2016, winning the Peter Crimmins medal for a fifth time.

In doing so, the 33-year-old surpassed Shane Crawford, Jason Dunstall and John Kennedy Sr, who each won the award four times.

Only Leigh Matthews, an eight-time best and fairest, has won the medal more often than Mitchell.

Mitchell won the 2016 gong after polling 170 votes, 13 more than runner-up Jordan Lewis, with Shaun Burgoyne placing third (156).

Midfielder Isaac Smith was awarded best clubman, Kaiden Brand received best first year player and Burgoyne was judged best player in finals.

AAP©2016 AAP